Anne Leigh Parrish2017-11-28T07:22:44+00:00

Project Description

Anne Leigh Parrish’s debut story collection, All The Roads That Lead From Home (Press 53, 2011) won a silver medal in the 2012 Independent Publisher Book Awards. Her second collection, Our Love Could Light The World, (She Writes Press, 2013) is a Kirkus Reviews recommended Indie title, and a finalist in both the International Book Awards and the Best Book Awards. She lives in Olympia, Washington.


When Lavinia Starkhurst’s husband is killed in a freak accident, she takes to the open road and meets a number of strangers, all with struggles of their own. Through these unexpected and occasionally hilarious encounters, Lavinia reflects on her past deeds, both good and bad, explores her two marriages, her roles as caregiver and wife, hoping all the while for self-acceptance and something to give her new life meaning.


With themes of reproductive rights and  feminism, this multi-generational novel presents three women whose paths cross at the Lindell Retirement Home. Constance Maynard, fierce, independent and proud, reflects on her long life promoting women’s rights through her career as a professor of history. Eunice Fitch, the perfect caregiver, is often unlucky in love, yet even in middle age refuses to give up searching for the perfect man. Sam Clark is a young aide with a passion for poetry and , small beautiful things, but at war with her own large, ungainly physique. All together they weave a tapestry as rich and complex as the female experience itself.


By The Wayside, the third story collection by award-winning author Anne Leigh Parrish, draws together eighteen previously published pieces about women, often in absurd situations, struggling to survive in a world that is often hostile to the female experience.


Meet Anna, Lorraine, Freddie, and Beth. Four women, who share blood and not much more, except that each is searching for something lost. Anna seeks to find her place in a new world. Lorraine looks to an all-powerful god to forget herself in. Freddie searches for herself without religion to forget her mother’s overbearing doctrine. Beth can’t find her soul in her mother’s walled off eyes.

For four generations these women have run away, run away from their own mother, their family, until Freddie sees in her daughter, Beth, the chance to break the cycle. With the support of her sister and the lingering words of a deceased husband, Freddie takes the first steps to healing herself and her relationship with her daughter, by confronting her past and her relationship with God.

With intelligence and understanding, Anne Leigh Parrish questions the cyclical nature of family and motherhood, and the occasionally agonizing, often shaky, but always deep connection between love and true faith.

Thoughtful and heartrending, What is Found, What is Lost captures the color hidden amidst the modern black and white portrayal of religion by examining the characters’ doubts and flaws and the prevailing need to believe in something larger than themselves.


Exclusive sneak peeks at new releases &
special promos delivered to your inbox.

  • When you subscribe to our newsletter, we'll email you occasional news, updates, and relevant promotional material from our brands. We do not share your information with partners or third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Are you a book blogger? Please sign up here.